Sunday through Friday is the work week, with Saturday the weekly day off. Most offices are open Sunday-Thursday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., and Friday 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. In winter, for three months (Mansir, Poush and Magh, or approximately 15th November to 14th March), hours are reduced by one hour every day but Friday.
The government announces other holidays often reserved for specific religions or regions. The calendar and official documents are based in Nepali B.S.

For most private sector organizations, Saturday is a weekly day off. However, this may vary according to the nature and type of services. For 24-hour industries such as hospitals, service industries, boilers, etc., holidays are covered by their own rule and regulations.

 Nepal Embassy list of Public Holidays in 2017

Day Date Year Holiday
Sun/Mon January 01/02 2017 New Years Day
Monday January 16  2017 Martin Luther King Day
Monday February 20  2017 President’s Day
Friday April 14 2017 Nepali New Year (नयाँ वर्ष)
Wednesday May 10  2017 Buddha Jayanti
Monday May 29 2017 Memorial Day
Tuesday July 04   2017 Independence Day
Monday September 04 2017 Labor Day
Thursday September 07 2017 Nijamati Sewa Diwas
Wednesday September 20 2017  Constitution Day (National Day) (राष्ट्रिय दिवस)
Thursday September 28/29 2017 Dashain (बडा दशैं )
Monday October 09  2017 Columbus Day
Thursday October 19/20 2017 Tihar (तिहार )
Friday November 10 2017 Veterans Day
Thursday November 23  2017 Thanksgiving Day
Monday December 25  2017 Christmas Day